Primary, Joint, or Secondary Faculty

Duke professors often have appointments in multiple departments, reflecting the highly interdisciplinary nature of modern science. Everyone listed in this section has a primary, joint, or secondary appointment in Physics (and can supervise Physics students), although only the primary department is listed below. In addition, various members of the Physics faculty have primary, joint or secondary appointments in Mathematics, Chemistry, Computer Science or Biology in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences; Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science (MEMS), or Biomedical Engineering (BME) in the Pratt School of Engineering; Radiology or Medical Physics at the Duke Medical School; or the Fuqua School of Business.

Named professorships are a special distinction competed and awarded across the University or across Trinity College. 

This list only includes faculty currently on campus; five additional scientists (Ken Brown,  Iman Marvian, Michael Rubinstein, Christoph Schmidt and Anselm Vossen) are joining the faculty in 2018.

Research, Teaching, or Adjunct Faculty