Department of Physics Staff Spotlight – June 2020

Monday, June 1, 2020
While the Duke Community celebrates this unprecedented graduating class of 2020, we would like to highlight two Duke Physics graduate and undergraduate team members for their successful development, coordination and commitment to our faculty, staff and students and first ever virtual graduating... Read More »
Prof. Ashutosh Kotwal

Prof. Kotwal Receives Research Grant for Artificial Intelligence Applications

Thursday, May 28, 2020
Prof. Ashutosh Kotwal has been awarded the Arts and Sciences Council's Faculty Research Grant for bringing together the Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Physics departments on "Applications of Artificial Intelligence". Prof. Kotwal has initiated this... Read More »
Prof. Patrick Charbonneau

Prof. Charbonneau Interviewed on Research Data Repository

Tuesday, May 5, 2020
The Research Data Repository is a service of the Duke University Libraries that provides curation, access, and preservation of research data produced by the Duke community. In an interview with Duke's Office of Scientific Integrity, Prof. Patrick Charbonneau, associate professor of... Read More »
Prof. Haiyan and Gao and Dr. Yang Zhang

Alum Zhang Published in Science, a Significant Contribution to PrimEx-II

Friday, May 1, 2020
Dr. Yang Zhang’s thesis work just appeared in a paper on "Precision measurement of the neutral pion lifetime" in Science on May 1, 2020. Dr. Yang Zhang received his Ph.D. from Duke in May 2018 under the supervision of Prof. Haiyan Gao. Strong force is one of the four fundamental forces in... Read More »
Duke Department of Physics logo

Bass and Rubinstein Receive Distinguished Professorships

Thursday, April 16, 2020
Congratulations to our faculty members Michael Rubinstein and Steffen Bass for being awarded distinguished professorships this year. Rubinstein has been named Aleksander S. Vesic Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and Bass has been named Arts & Sciences... Read More »
Data At A Distance -- Daniel Scolnic

Professors Share Their Experiences Working from a Safe Distance

Monday, March 30, 2020
Prof. Daniel Scolnic (and his daughter, marking her video debut movie experience) and Prof. Patrick Charbonneau have been included in a video Duke made about how scientists are dealing with working from home during the COVID-19 pandemic. Read more about "Data at a Distance" on DukeToday's website... Read More »
Prof. Michael Troxel teaching via Zoom

Prof. Troxel Shares his Tips for Teaching from Home During COVID-19

Friday, March 27, 2020
In part of Duke's Keep Teaching initiative, Prof. Michael Troxel shared his experience teaching physics remotely with Zoom during the COVID-19 pandemic. Maintaining a fresh and interesting atmosphere has been a challenge for professors university-wide. Click here to read some of Troxel's tips.
Prof. Warren S. Warren

Prof. Warren Wins Award for Magnetic Resonance

Monday, March 9, 2020
Prof. Warren Warren, who holds appointments in Physics, Chemistry and Radiology, has been awarded the 2020 Günther Laukien Prize for his contributions to nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR) and its cousin, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). MRI, which uses magnetic fields and radio... Read More »
Patrick Charbonneau

Prof. Charbonneau Tries to Crack the Glass Problem

Thursday, March 5, 2020
Prof. Patrick Charbonneau, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Physics, is trying to crack the glass problem as part of an international Simons Collaboration. In a new video from Duke's Why Do You Study That? series, he explains what is the problem with glasses and cracks some along the... Read More »

NASA Science Mission WFIRST, with Science Led by Prof. Scolnic and Troxel, Passes Key Milestone, Launch to be 2025

Monday, March 2, 2020
Profs. Daniel Scolnic and Michael Troxel are science leaders for WFIRST, a next generation NASA flagship mission. WFIRST passed its agency-level review by the NASA Agency Program Management Council under what is called Key Decision Point C, which allows the mission to formally enter a development... Read More »