Profs. Brown, Chandrasekharan, and Wu Elected APS Fellows

Monday, October 1, 2018
Duke Physics logo

The American Physical Society announced that Prof. Shailesh Chandrasekharan (nominated by the Division of Computational Physics), Prof. Ying Wu (nominated by the Division of Physics of Beams) and secondary faculty member Prof. Kenneth Brown (nominated by the Division of Quantum Information) have all been elected Fellows of the American Physical Society.

The criterion for election is "exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education." Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers, and is restricted to a specific small percentage of the APS membership. This brings the number of Duke Physics faculty (primary, joint, secondary and living emeritus) with fellowship status to 24, going back all the way to 1994 and stretching onward and upward!