Fall 2020 Graduate Student Fellowships and Awards

Monday, August 31, 2020
Duke Department of Physics logo

The Fall 2020 graduate student fellowships and awards have been named.

Mary Creason Memorial Award: Ryan Bouabid
The recipient earns a monetary reward. Read more about the Mary Creason Memorial Award here.

AAPT Outstanding Teacher Assistants of the Year, 2019-20: Son Nguyen and Erik Peterson
Recipients receive an AAPT gift membership which includes electronic access to premier journals: The American Journal of Physics, The Physics Teacher, and Physics Today

 Fall 2020 Fellowship Recipients:

  • J. Horst Meyer Fellowship: Ethan Arnault
  • Goshaw Family Endowment Fellowship: Minyu Feng, Samuel Hedges, and Brodie Popovic
  • Charles Townes/Perkins-Elmer Fellowship: Dripto Debroy and Lalit Yadav
  • Henry W. Newson Fellowship: Peifan Liu and Jingyi Zhou
  • Chemistry GPNANO fellowship: Jordan McCourt and Jonathon Yuly
  • John T. Chambers Fellowship, Fitzpatrick Institute: Mingyu Kang

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Award: Brodie Popovic

Jefferson Science Associates (JSA) Graduate Fellowship Award: Andrew Smith

For a list of past fellowship recipients, please click here. Congratulations to all!