Art Champagne Announced as New Director of TUNL

Friday, July 1, 2016
On June 24, 2016, Provost Sally Kornbluth announced that Prof. Arthur (Art) Champagne of UNC-Chapel Hill, and now an Adjunct Professor of Physics, will become the new Director of the Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratories (TUNL) effective July 1. Provost Kornbluth's announcement is below: I... Read More »

Grad Student Davis Featured on Duke Research Blog

Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Duke Physics graduate student Douglas Davis (advisor: Prof. Mark Kruse) was interviewed for Duke Research Blog about the LHC restart. See the story "LHC Reboot Promises Piles of New Data for Duke Physicists" here.

Graduate Student Yan Receives JSA Graduate Fellowship

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Graduate student Xuefei Yan (advisor: Prof. Haiyan Gao) is among the winners of the 2016/2017 Jefferson Science Associates (JSA) graduate fellowship for research at Jefferson Lab. View the press release here. Congratulations, Xuefei!

Grad Students Awe and Hedges Awarded CNEC Fellowships

Friday, May 20, 2016
Graduate students Connor Awe and Samuel Hedges were awarded the Consortium for Non-Proliferation Enabling Capabilities (CNEC) fellowship. Prof. Phillip Barbeau is advisor to both students. The fellowships will begin in the fall of 2016. More information about CNEC's fellowship can be read here.... Read More »

Prof. Emeritus Moo Young Han Has Passed Away

Friday, May 20, 2016
Prof. Emeritus Moo Young Han has passed away on May 15, 2016 at the age of 81 here in Durham, NC. Prof. Han was a dedicated member of the Physics Department and beloved by students. Our condolences to his family. Some of Prof. Han’s important contributions to physics are outlined in his obituary in... Read More »

2016 Sigma Pi Sigma Inductees

Thursday, April 28, 2016
New members of the National Honor Society for Physics Students were inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma during the Undergraduate Poster Session held this Monday, April 25, 2016. The new SPS members are: Miguel Anderson, Tianjin Cai, Hao Geng, Emily Kuhn, Tamra Nebabu, Ji Won Park, Bejamin Suh, and Fan... Read More »

2016 Undergraduate Poster Session Prize Winners

Thursday, April 28, 2016
The annual Undergraduate Poster Session was held on Monday, April 25, 2016. Four poster prizes were awarded for First Place: Katrina Miller, Second Place: Emily Kuhn, and a tie for Third Place went to Connor Hann and Matthew Olson. Congratulations to the winners and all participants for their hard... Read More »

2016 Scholarly Achievements

Thursday, April 28, 2016
Three faculty members in the Physics Department have been recognized for 2016 Scholarly Achievements: Teaching, Leadership, Mentoring & Diversity Awards Henry Greenside: David & Janet Vaughan Brooks Award Calvin Howell: The Dean’s Diversity Award Fellowships Patrick... Read More »

Prof. Tornow Attends Award Celebration in Japan

Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Prof. Emeritus Werner Tornow has followed an invitation to Tohoku University in Sendai, Japan to celebrate the Breakthrough in Fundamental Physics Prize awarded to Prof. Atsuto Suzuki and to the other members of the KamLAND Collaboration who co-authored the first KamLAND publication (DOI), and... Read More »

Updates from Former QCD Group Members

Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Prof. Chiho Nonaka of Nagoya University will spend a one-year sabbatical in the Physics Department as a Senior Research Scientist working with Prof. Steffen A. Bass. Nonaka was a Postdoctoral Research Associate in the QCD group from 2002 to 2005. Prof. Hannah Petersen, now at Frankfurt... Read More »