Prof. Tornow Contributed To Refurbishment of Outer Detector at KamLAND

Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Prof. Werner Tornow spent two and a half weeks in Japan to help with the refurbishment of the so-called Outer Detector of the main KamLAND detector located in the Kamioka mine adjacent to the Super-Kamiokande detector. The Outer Detector was built with Prof. Tornow as Principle Investigator in the... Read More »

Prof. Tornow's Group Published

Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Research Scientist Sean Finch’s paper “Search for neutrinoless double-electron capture of 156Dy” was selected as an Editors’ Suggestion in Phys. Rev. C 92, 065503 (2015). This is the third paper of Prof. Werner Tornow’s research group within about one year that was selected as an Editors’... Read More »

Prof. Mikkelsen Receives Early Career Award

Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Prof. Maiken H. Mikkelsen won the Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement given annually to outstanding teacher-scholars who are recognized by their scientific communities for the quality and innovation of their research programs and their academic leadership... Read More »

Winter 2016 E-Newsletter Now Available

Wednesday, March 9, 2016
The Winter 2016 e-newsletter for the Duke Physics Department is now online. Click here or on the image at left to read more. Do you have news to share? Please write to the News Team and tell us about it.

Chair Warren S. Warren on the Future of Duke Physics

Monday, February 22, 2016
Prof. Warren Warren became chair of Duke Physics on September 1, 2015, replacing interim chair Prof. Dan Gauthier. Since then, he’s been taking the long view, asking himself and other faculty members what the department should look like in 10 years, and what investments are needed to make that... Read More »

Profs. Teitsworth and Huffman's Course Evaluations Among Top 5%

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Congratulations to Profs. Stephen Teitsworth and Emilie Huffman whose course evaluations were among the top 5% of all undergraduate instructors at Duke for a medium class (20-59 students) in Fall 2015 for the course PHY 142 "General Physics II: Electricity and Magnetism" and its discussion sections... Read More »

Undergrads Hao Geng, Zhetao Jia, and Fan Zhang Receive Silver Medal in University Physics Competition

Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Physics majors Hao Geng, Zhetao Jia, and Fan Zhang won a silver medal in The University Physics Competition 2015 Contest held this past November. The competition problems and results were posted online here. Congratulations to the team and their faculty supervisor Prof. Roxanne Springer. Hopefully... Read More »

Photos from CUWiP 2016

Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Below are photos taken at the Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP) held this year at Old Dominion University, January 15-17, 2016. Six Duke Physics undergraduates attended. Photo at Right: l-r, Fan Zhang, Tianji Cai on Jefferson Lab Tour l-r: Ji Won Park, Melissa Wu and... Read More »

Prof. Behringer's Work in N&O and Charlotte Observer

Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Prof. Robert P. Behringer's work was on the front page of the Science and Technology section of the The News & Observer on Monday, January 18, 2016. Read the story "Duke physicist bullies beads to study avalanches" online here. The same story also ran in The Charlotte Observer. See it here.

2015 Duke Physics Newsletter

Wednesday, January 6, 2016
The 2015 Duke Physics print newsletter is out now. You can read it online here. If you would like to receive a hard copy, please contact the News Team to be added to our mailing list.