NSF Video Production Featuring Behringer Group's Research

Wednesday, June 20, 2012
Please enjoy watching the video "Granular Materials" produced by the National Science Foundation featuring the research of Prof. Bob Behringer's group. You can watch on YouTube by clicking here or on Live Science's website by clicking here.

Two HEP Group Postdocs Win Awards

Tuesday, June 19, 2012
Two postdocs from the high energy physics group were recognized for their work this week at the Fermilab Users Meeting. Alex Himmel (from the Neutrino Group) was awarded the URA thesis award for his thesis "Antineutrino Oscillations in the Atmospheric Sector" which he completed at Caltech just... Read More »

Duke Physics Undergrad Travis Byington Publishes in PRL with Prof. Socolar

Wednesday, June 13, 2012
Last January, Duke Physics major Travis Byington ’12 published an article in Physical Review Letters (PRL) with Prof. Josh Socolar. While it’s not unheard of for Duke undergraduates to publish in professional journals, Socolar says, “PRL is a pretty prestigious place to publish your first paper.”... Read More »

Alum Kidd Has New Position at Tennesee Tech

Wednesday, June 6, 2012
Physics Department graduate Dr. Mary F. Kidd  (Ph.D. 2010),  presently a postdoc at Los Alamos National Laboratory, has accepted an offer for a tenure track Assistant Professor position at Tennessee Technological University. Mary did her Ph.D. work in Prof. Werner Tornow’s group at TUNL... Read More »

Majorana Collaboration Passes DOE/NSF Critical Design Review

Monday, June 4, 2012
On May 23, 2012 the Majorana Collaboration, led by John Wilkerson from UNC, successfully passed the DOE/NSF review of the Majorana Demonstrator project. This project is a zero-neutrino double-beta decay search using a combination of up to 40 kg of natural and enriched (in 76Ge) High-Purity... Read More »

Tornow Underground

Friday, June 1, 2012
Prof. Werner Tornow, within a 2-week time frame, was at three underground research facilities. First, in early May he worked with graduate student Sean Finch at the Kimballton Underground Research Facility (KURF) near Blacksburg, VA. In this limestone mine, the two operate a two-neutrino double-... Read More »

Jonah E. Bernhard and Chung-Ting Ke selected as 2012 AAPT Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Friday, May 18, 2012
First-year graduate student Jonah Bernhard and second-year graduate student Chung-Ting Ke have been named 2012 Outstanding Teaching Assistants of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT). Prof. Haiyan Gao, Chair of Physics, will present each with a certificate of achievement and a gift... Read More »

Curtarolo and Colleagues in Nature Materials

Monday, May 14, 2012
Prof. Stefano Curtarolo and colleagues published a paper on topological insulator in Nature Materials. You can read it online here.

Two Physics Alums Honored

Saturday, May 12, 2012
Two Duke Physics alums, who are now faculty at Baylor University, were honored at Baylor's graduation May 10. Dr. Jeffrey S. Olafsen (PhD, 1994, adv. Profs. Robert P. Behringer and Horst Meyer) was honored for outstanding teaching Dr. Jay R. Dittmann (PhD, 1998, adv. Prof. Alfred... Read More »

Howell Appointed to Physics Review C Journal Editorial Board

Monday, May 7, 2012
Prof. Calvin Howell was recently appointed as a member of the Physical Review C journal editorial board. Please see this link for a complete list of staff.