Majorana Collaboration Passes DOE/NSF Critical Design Review

Monday, June 4, 2012
On May 23, 2012 the Majorana Collaboration, led by John Wilkerson from UNC, successfully passed the DOE/NSF review of the Majorana Demonstrator project. This project is a zero-neutrino double-beta decay search using a combination of up to 40 kg of natural and enriched (in 76Ge) High-Purity... Read More »

Tornow Underground

Friday, June 1, 2012
Prof. Werner Tornow, within a 2-week time frame, was at three underground research facilities. First, in early May he worked with graduate student Sean Finch at the Kimballton Underground Research Facility (KURF) near Blacksburg, VA. In this limestone mine, the two operate a two-neutrino double-... Read More »

Jonah E. Bernhard and Chung-Ting Ke selected as 2012 AAPT Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Friday, May 18, 2012
First-year graduate student Jonah Bernhard and second-year graduate student Chung-Ting Ke have been named 2012 Outstanding Teaching Assistants of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT). Prof. Haiyan Gao, Chair of Physics, will present each with a certificate of achievement and a gift... Read More »

April-May 2012 E-Newsletter Now Online

Thursday, May 17, 2012
The April-May 2012 e-newsletter is no online. Read it here. Do you have news to share? Please write to the News Team with your story.

Curtarolo and Colleagues in Nature Materials

Monday, May 14, 2012
Prof. Stefano Curtarolo and colleagues published a paper on topological insulator in Nature Materials. You can read it online here.

Two Physics Alums Honored

Saturday, May 12, 2012
Two Duke Physics alums, who are now faculty at Baylor University, were honored at Baylor's graduation May 10.Dr. Jeffrey S. Olafsen (PhD, 1994, adv. Profs. Robert P. Behringer and Horst Meyer) was honored for outstanding teachingDr. Jay R. Dittmann (PhD, 1998, adv. Prof. Alfred Goshaw) was honored... Read More »

Howell Appointed to Physics Review C Journal Editorial Board

Monday, May 7, 2012
Prof. Calvin Howell was recently appointed as a member of the Physical Review C journal editorial board. Please see this link for a complete list of staff.

Gao Named Henry Newson Professor of Physics

Friday, May 4, 2012
Prof. Haiyan Gao was named the Henry Newson Professor of Physics in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences, effective July 1, 2012. Please congratulate her on this richly-deserved honor! Read the Duke Today announcement here.

Kotwal’s Group’s W Boson Mass Measurement featured on the cover of PRL

Thursday, May 3, 2012
Prof. Ashutosh Kotwal's group's measurement of the W boson mass, which is the world's most precise and makes a definitive prediction of the Higgs boson mass, has been published in Physical Review Letters. It can be read here. It is an Editor's recommendation and a short synopsis from the PRL... Read More »

Cao and Zheng Receive 2011 Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Physics graduate students Chenglin Cao and Wangzhi Zheng received the 2011 outstanding graduate student award from the Ministry of Education of China. This award is dedicated to Chinese graduate students studying abroad. There are a total of 495 students that received this award in 2011. They are... Read More »