Undergraduate Flower is 2015-2016 Undergraduate American Nuclear Scholar

Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Chris Flower, a Physics undergraduate student working in Prof. Haiyan Gao's group, was selected as a 2015-2016 Undergraduate American Nuclear Scholar by the American Nuclear Society. Flower will be recognized at the ANS national chapter meeting in San Antonio later this year.

Profs. Greenside and Springer Receive Course Evaluations in the Top 5%

Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Profs. Henry Greenside and Roxanne Springer have been recognized for receiving course evaluations in the top 5% of all undergraduate courses in the categories of Quality of Course and/or Intellectual Stimulation for small classes (Springer) or mid-size classes (Greenside). Greenside taught PHY 162... Read More »

Grad Students Holway and Yao Nominated for 2015 AAPT Outstanding TA Award

Tuesday, June 23, 2015
The Physics Department has nominated graduate students Kevin Holway and Xiaojun Yao for the AAPT Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for 2015. Their performances as Teaching Assistants have been exemplary and highly appreciated by their colleagues in the department. With the award, AAPT also... Read More »

Grad Students Malone and Seredinski Selected for 2015 Mary Creason Memorial Award

Tuesday, June 23, 2015
The Physics Department has selected graduate students Ron Malone and Andrew Seredinski for the Mary Creason Memorial Award for 2015. Their performances as Teaching Assistants in the introductory laboratory courses has been exemplary and highly appreciated by their colleagues in the department.... Read More »

Grad Student Karapetyan's Research Featured on Nature and DukeToday

Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Sargis Karapetyan, a Physics graduate student in Prof. Nicolas Buchler's lab was featured in DukeToday for his paper "Redox rhythm reinforces the circadian clock to gate immune response." Read the DukeToday article "Dual Internal Clocks Keep Plant Defenses on Schedule" here and read the paper on... Read More »

Prof. Lu Receives NSF CAREER Award

Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Mathematics and Physics Prof. Jianfeng Lu has been named the recipient of a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation. The theme of this award is to develop advanced computational methods for quantum and statistical mechanics. See details along with Lu's abstract here.

Prof. Warren Refines Laser Technique for Use in Fields of Dermatology and Art

Thursday, May 7, 2015
Prof. Warren S. Warren was featured in a Pratt School of Engineering news release about his work with pump-probe spectroscopy that has aided the fields of both medicine and art. Read the article "A New Way of Looking at Melanomas and Renaissance Paintings" here.

Profs. Mikkelsen and Smith with Others Publish Paper in Nano Letters

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Profs. Maiken Mikkelsen and David R. Smith with others, including researchers Gleb Akselrod and Thang Ba Hoang have had a new paper published in Nano Letters. You can read Leveraging Nanocavity Harmonics for Control of Optical Processes in 2D Semiconductors" here.

Prof. Barbeau Receives DOE Early Career Research Award

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Prof. Phil Barbeau, assistant professor in Physics, has been awarded a Department of Energy Early Career Research Award from the Office of High Energy Physics. The program supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists early in thier careers and also stimulates... Read More »

2015 Undergraduate Poster Session

Friday, April 24, 2015
The annual undergraduate poster session was held on Wednesday, April 23, 2015. Eleven students displayed and presented their research. Awards for First, Second and Third place were determined by a panel of judges and presented by Director of Undergraduate Studies and Prof. Kate Scholberg. Third... Read More »