The Passing of Prof. John Madey

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
With a heavy heart, we relay the sad news received during the weekend regarding the passing of Prof. John Madey in Hawaii. He passed away on July 5, 2016. Professor Madey was a pioneer in the FEL research, and a prominent, world-class physicist. He was the founding director of the Duke FEL... Read More »

News from Prof. Haravifard

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Prof. Sara Haravifard has been elected to the Oak Ridge National Laboratory Spallation Neutron Source and High Flux Isotope Reactor User Group Executive Committee (SHUG EC) & the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory Users Advisory Committee‎ (NHMFL UAC). Additionally, Haravifard's recent... Read More »

Stephen Teitsworth Announced as New Director of Graduate Studies

Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Effective July 1, 2016, Prof. Stephen Teitsworth has been appointed to a three-year term as Director of Graduate Studies in the Physics Department.

Undergraduates Featured on Duke Research Blog

Friday, July 1, 2016
Physics undergraduates Ifeanyi Achu, Hannah Glaser, Spencer Griswold, Emily Stump, Wei Tang, and Elisa Zhang were featured on Duke Research Blog. Read the article "Fledgling Physicists Embark for the LHC" here.

Art Champagne Announced as New Director of TUNL

Friday, July 1, 2016
On June 24, 2016, Provost Sally Kornbluth announced that Prof. Arthur (Art) Champagne of UNC-Chapel Hill, and now an Adjunct Professor of Physics, will become the new Director of the Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratories (TUNL) effective July 1. Provost Kornbluth's announcement is below: I... Read More »

Grad Student Davis Featured on Duke Research Blog

Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Duke Physics graduate student Douglas Davis (advisor: Prof. Mark Kruse) was interviewed for Duke Research Blog about the LHC restart. See the story "LHC Reboot Promises Piles of New Data for Duke Physicists" here.

Graduate Student Yan Receives JSA Graduate Fellowship

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Graduate student Xuefei Yan (advisor: Prof. Haiyan Gao) is among the winners of the 2016/2017 Jefferson Science Associates (JSA) graduate fellowship for research at Jefferson Lab. View the press release here. Congratulations, Xuefei!

Grad Students Awe and Hedges Awarded CNEC Fellowships

Friday, May 20, 2016
Graduate students Connor Awe and Samuel Hedges were awarded the Consortium for Non-Proliferation Enabling Capabilities (CNEC) fellowship. Prof. Phillip Barbeau is advisor to both students. The fellowships will begin in the fall of 2016. More information about CNEC's fellowship can be read here.... Read More »

Prof. Emeritus Moo Young Han Has Passed Away

Friday, May 20, 2016
Prof. Emeritus Moo Young Han has passed away on May 15, 2016 at the age of 81 here in Durham, NC. Prof. Han was a dedicated member of the Physics Department and beloved by students. Our condolences to his family. Some of Prof. Han’s important contributions to physics are outlined in his obituary in... Read More »

2016 Sigma Pi Sigma Inductees

Thursday, April 28, 2016
New members of the National Honor Society for Physics Students were inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma during the Undergraduate Poster Session held this Monday, April 25, 2016. The new SPS members are: Miguel Anderson, Tianjin Cai, Hao Geng, Emily Kuhn, Tamra Nebabu, Ji Won Park, Bejamin Suh, and Fan... Read More »