2012 Nobel Prize in Physics Announced

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

The Nobel Prize in Physics was just announced. It goes to two researchers in quantum optics/quantum information science: Serge Haroche from Ecole Normale Supérieure and David Wineland from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST): "The Nobel Prize in Physics 2012 was awarded jointly to Serge Haroche and David J. Wineland "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems."" Professor Wineland was a plenary speaker at the last annual meeting of the Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics in Spring 2012. See more information on the Nobel Prize website here, National Public Radio's website here and The Guardian's site here.